You can deactivate an endpoint so that it no longer reports in to Endpoint Protection. You can reactivate an endpoint later, if necessary. By deactivating an endpoint, you can free the license seat so you can install another endpoint in its place.

            

Note: If you don't want to deactivate the endpoint from the Management Portal, you can send an uninstall command to the endpoint instead. This action retains the endpoint entry in the Management Portal, although it displays as Not Seen after seven days. For more information, see Issuing Commands to Endpoints.

            

This topic contains the following procedures:

            

  • Deactivating Endpoints                
  • Reactivating SecureAnywhere on Endpoints                

            

Deactivating Endpoints

            

Deactivation sends an Uninstall command to the endpoint and removes the endpoint entry from the Management Portal.

            

To deactivate an endpoint:

            

  1. Click the Group Management tab.

  2. From the Groups panel on the left, select a group that includes the endpoints you want.

            

  1. Select one or more endpoints and from the Command bar, click the Deactivatebutton.

    A warning message displays, indicating that deactivated endpoint will no longer be able to report to Endpoint Protection.

            

  1. Click Yesto send an Uninstall command to the endpoint, so that it removes SecureAnywhere.

    Once SecureAnywhere is removed, the endpoint is displayed in the Deactivated Endpoints group. After seven days, the status changes to Not Seen Recently.

    Note: You cannot permanently remove endpoints from the Deactivated Endpoints group yourself. Contact Webroot Technical Support if you need to clean up this list and remove old items.

            

Reactivating SecureAnywhere on Endpoints

            

If you deactivate an endpoint from the Group Management tab, you can reactivate it later if necessary.

            

To reactivate the endpoint:

            

  1. Reinstall SecureAnywhere on the endpoint.

  2. Open the Management Portal and click the Group Management tab.
                   
  3. From the Deactivated Endpoints group, select the endpoint.
                   
  4. From the Command bar, click the Reactivate button.


    The system moves the endpoint back into its former group.